cemeteries

This collection of articles, stories and legends relate to Sleepy Hollow Country's historic cemeteries.

  • The King Mansion at Tarrytown House Estate is home to Goosefeather restaurant and allegedly a ghost!
    Ghosts & Spooks

    The Ghost of Sybil Harris King

    The ghost of Sybil Harris King is reputed to linger around her former mansion which today is part of the Tarrytown House Estate. This corporate retreat center and event venue, located in Tarrytown, New York, has a rich history that dates back to the 19th century. The property is the combination of three Gilded Age estates owned by wealthy families who were drawn to the Hudson River Valley for its scenic beauty and proximity to New York City. It is situated on East Sunnyside Lane, just off South Broadway and not far from Washington Irving’s home, Sunnyside. Of the three original mansions, two remain standing: Uplands of broker James S.…

  • Sketch of Tarrytown Boat Works 35 foot cruising boat, from MotorBoating December 1909 issue.
    Local History & Interest,  Vanished Sleepy Hollow

    Tarrytown Boat Works

    Tarrytown Boat Works was part of a vibrant Hudson River working waterfront during the early years of the 20th century. It was one of at least three boat builders on the Tarrytown waterfront over the years, including local powerhouses John O. Brown and Julius Petersen. While traces of any local boat builders are hard to find 100 years later, we dug deep into the archives to piece together this brief history of Tarrytown Boat Works. Sadly, we have not been able to track down any surviving watercraft from this shop. What we know for sure is that the business was incorporated in 1910. The annual report from the New York…

  • Places & Landmarks

    Sleepy Hollow Cemetery

    Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Sleepy Hollow, New York, is one of the most storied and picturesque burial grounds in the United States. Nestled in the heart of the Hudson Valley, this historic cemetery is renowned for its connection to Washington Irving’s famous tale “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow,” as well as for its beautiful landscape and notable interments. With a rich history dating back to the 19th century, Sleepy Hollow Cemetery is a place where the past comes alive through its legends, architecture, and the famous individuals laid to rest there. Historical Background Sleepy Hollow Cemetery was established in 1849, at a time when the rural cemetery movement was gaining…

  • The Old Dutch Church of Sleepy Hollow sits on a knoll above the Pocantico River.
    Places & Landmarks

    The Old Dutch Church of Sleepy Hollow

    Nestled amidst the enchanting landscape of Sleepy Hollow, New York, lies a structure steeped in both history and folklore—the Old Dutch Church. As one of the oldest churches in the state, its weathered stones and stoic architecture have witnessed centuries of change, yet it remains an enduring symbol of the region’s rich cultural heritage. More to the point, this is the church and churchyard that appear in Washington Irving’s short story “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.” Early History of the Old Dutch Church of Sleepy Hollow The precise age of the building is unknown, but it seems likely to place it between 1685 when the church ball was cast in…

  • A painting of Ericstan, home of John James Herrick.
    Local History & Interest,  Places & Landmarks,  Vanished Sleepy Hollow

    Ericstan: The Lost Castle of Tarrytown

    Once upon a time, in Sleepy Hollow Country, there were not one, but four impressive stone “castles” in the region. Two of these are still in the landscape today: Carrollcliff and Lyndhurst. The remaining two are no longer standing and lost to time. One had featured prominently, overlooking the village of Tarrytown, with towers and wisteria-covered walls that commanded one of the best views of the Hudson River. This lost castle was Ericstan. Architect Alexander Jackson Davis was busy designing and building residences in the Sleepy Hollow region in the early 19th century. He was an artistic acquaintance of George Harvey, the artist who designed Sunnyside for Washington Irving, and…

  • Scan of the title page of John Henry Titus's self published edition of The Face on the Barroom Floor.
    Local History & Interest

    The Bard of Tarrytown

    The Bard of Tarrytown. The Poet of the Pines. The Tanyard Poet. The World’s Most Gifted Seer, Palmist and Medium. These were just some of the professional titles used by the tireless and shameless self-promoter John Henry Titus throughout his long life. He missed the chance to apply even more apt titles to himself: Spinner of Yarns, Teller of Tall Tales, Purveyor of Pablum. Hold on as we explore the life of John Henry Titus through a trail of newspaper advertisements, news articles, and self published books. Here in Sleepy Hollow Country we are all too familiar with out-of-towners sweeping in to school us simple, unsophisticated yokels. A fellow named…

  • Main entrance to Tarrytown Castle, framed against a gloomy winter sky.
    Places & Landmarks

    The Last Tarrytown Castle 

    Carrollcliffe, standing at one of the highest points in the village, is the last surviving Tarrytown castle. There were once two castles here. Or maybe four depending on who you ask and how you choose to define a castle. Just north was Ericstan, a castellated villa by Alexander Jackson Davis that was demolished in 1944. To the west was Edgemont, the painted brick home of Julian Detmer, with decorative crenelations in the style of a castle. To the south is Lyndhurst, which is occasionally described as a castle although it is more accurately a Gothic Revival mansion. Carrollcliffe was constructed by Howard Carroll, Inspector General of New York state’s troops in…

  • Tarrytown Post Card Company half tone post card of Sleepy Hollow Bridge, Tarrytown, N.Y.
    Vanished Sleepy Hollow,  Places & Landmarks

    The Legendary Headless Horseman Bridge

    “The bridge became more than ever an object of superstitious awe, and that may be the reason why the road has been altered of late years, so as to approach the church by the border of the mill-pond.” -“The Legend of Sleepy Hollow”, Washington Irving More than 200 years after publication of “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow“, the headless horseman bridge is one of the most popular destinations in Sleepy Hollow. Every October it is sought out by thousands of visitors from around the globe. Unfortunately, the original bridge where Ichabod Crane lost his race with the Headless Horseman no longer exists. The simple wooden span that crossed the Pocantico River…

  • Newspaper clipping on Silent Pete, a character who walked the roads and woods of Hudson River towns and villages.
    Local History & Interest

    The Lonely Life of Silent Pete

    “For nearly 20 years—as far as anyone knows—a shabby, slouching figure of a man has been walking daily between Yonkers and North Tarrytown, creating for Hudson Valley residents a new legend. He never speaks: so he’s called Silent Pete. Iron Mike and Nothing Joe. He just walks.” The Tarrytown Daily News, Tarrytown, NY. May 19, 1938. Tarrytown and North Tarrytown (today’s Sleepy Hollow) were once the haunts of Silent Pete, a reclusive and mysterious character who walked a regular route along the river towns in southern Westchester County. Reclusive and mysterious characters aren’t in short supply in Sleepy Hollow Country. In fact, Silent Pete picked up the mantle from two…

  • Ghoulish Jokester Robs a Grave in a cemetery, setting the skull atop a tombstone.
    Local History & Interest,  Vanished Sleepy Hollow

    Ghoulish Jokester Robs a Grave

    “Echoes of Ichabod Crane’s ghost stories in the Tarrytown cemetery led to the discovery early today that some one had removed a skull from a pauper grave and placed it on top of a tombstone in the conventionally gruesome manner.” -The Washington Times, May 25, 1929 One night in May 1929 a person passing through the hamlet of East View received quite a jolt at the sight of a human skull atop a tombstone in the county poorhouse cemetery. Not bothering to give his name, the individual reported to Town of Greenburgh police that a ghost was roaming the cemetery. Sergeant Dunkel investigated and found the skull placed on top…